Indiana University

University Human Resources

Home > Benefits > Time off > Holidays for Staff Employees

Holidays for Staff Employees

Staff employees (75% FTE or greater) receive the following nine paid holidays a year. Each holiday is considered to be eight hours for full-time Staff and is prorated by FTE for part-time Staff (50-74%).

If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the Friday immediately preceding the holiday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the Monday immediately following the holiday.

See the Holiday policy for further details.

2016 Holidays

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 18
Campus Holiday Accrues on March 1 of each year. The Campus Holiday is either a “floating” holiday or a day designated by the president of the university or the chancellor of the campus. On campuses that treat the holiday as a floating holiday, Campus Holiday is available to use on or after March 1.
Memorial Day Monday, May 30
Independence Day Monday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24
    Friday after Thanksgiving     Friday, November 25
Christmas Day Sunday, December 25 (observed Monday, December 26)

2017 Holidays

Holiday Date
New Year's Day Sunday, January 1 (observed Monday, January 2)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16
Campus Holiday Accrues on March 1 of each year. The Campus Holiday is either a “floating” holiday or a day designated by the president of the university or the chancellor of the campus. On campuses that treat the holiday as a floating holiday, Campus Holiday is available to use on or after March 1.
Memorial Day Monday, May 29
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 4
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23
    Friday after Thanksgiving     Friday, November 24
Christmas Day Monday, December 25